Teams all set for President’s Cup Finals

By UA&P Alumni

After going through the grueling preliminary and semifinal games, Division 1’s Team UYYY and Valle Sixers finally collide in their title bid on March 16 at the MPC. For the first time in recent Prescup history, the championship will be disputed by relatively-younger alumni. Game time is set at 5:50 PM.

Consistent defense and high energy will be crucial for both teams. They boast of the two best point guards in the league this season.

A quick glimpse into their head-to-head matchup indicates a classic encounter of players at their prime. Team UYYY’s Quito Limbo is a “pass-first shoot-second” guard, who can dictate the tempo either way. He is a tenacious on-the-ball defender and can create pressure all game long. The veteran play-maker and former Dragon is also the team’s voice off the court. Valuable support is rendered by Xer Villanueva and Tim Uy.

Meanwhile, Karl Santos is the other half of the potent inside-out combo of the Valle Sixers. Along with former MVP Miguel Vazquez manning the shaded area, the duo is somewhat a local version of Utah Jazz’ trademark “Stockton to Malone.” Santos has likewise steered the fate of his team. Proof of his versatility is his record of eight 3-pointers made in a single game this season. With the presence of key players Silas del Prado, Paolo Darroca, and Joseph Trajano, the Sixers are indeed determined to win it all this year.

And while they won 91-70 in their first encounter with the Sixers last January 6, the perimeter-oriented Team UYYY will definitely not be complacent in facing their vastly-improved rivals, who have since gone on a three-game win streak heading into the finals.

Both teams went through contrasting scenarios in qualifying for the finals. Team UYYY had to endure the MJ Bayang-led All Stars, while the Sixers went smooth-sailing against an undermanned Jager team, which they routed in the semis. At the end of the day, though, the tussle will boil down to which team executes better offense and defense.

Several Team UYYY players are also gunning for their personal back-to-back crowns, having won with Fusion in 2012. These notable individuals are Quito Limbo, Mac Valdez, Martin Rayos, and Cibbie Gonzales.